My first post

Hey guys! Well, this is it.  I officially leave for the trail in three days.  On Friday morning my parents are driving me to Damascus, Virginia, population 815, for Trail Days, also known as “Hiker’s Prom”.  They estimate between 20,000 to 30,000 people attend the event.  I don’t really know what to expect, but I know it will be the most perfectly strange way to begin my journey.  I will leave from there on Sunday. As far as the hike goes specifically, I’m doing what’s known as a flip-flop hike, which means I’ll start my hike in the middle of the trail, go up to Maine, then go back to the middle to hike back down to Georgia.  The reasoning behind this is to allow me to reach the finishing point at Mt. Katahdin before it closes for safety and weather reasons on October 15. I made this blog to keep everyone updated on my adventures in the wilderness.  You can plan on hearing the good, the bad, and the creepy-crawly.  I’ll be posting a new entry every Saturday, which my wonderful mother has kindly agreed to type up for me (thanks Mom!). As some of you know, I’m dedicating this hike to orphaned children at Heart For Africa in Swaziland.  My goal is to raise one dollar for every mile I walk, which should add up to $2,180.  For more information, I would love for you to visit my fundraising page at gofundme.com/st984k

Thanks for walking with me!

Kimber

“Fear, to a great extent, is born of a story we tell ourselves, and so I chose to tell myself a different story from the one women are told. I decided I was safe. I was strong. I was brave. Nothing could vanquish me.” ― Cheryl Strayed, Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail

Leave a Reply

